Frequently Asked Questions
- Do I have to start by taking pictures?
- Does DotGlu use GPS tracking?
- Do I need to use all seven buttons when creating a new memory?
- How can I change the order of my pictures on the template?
- Where are my photos?
- Can I change or edit the text style, size, font and color?
- Is my personal information shared?
- Can I share audio or video to my Facebook and Twitter account?
- Can I rename my memory after is has been saved?
- Are all my memory elements stored on my phone?
- If I change phones will my memories still be available?
- When I start a memory is it saved automatically?
- How long are my memories stored?
- How many pictures can I take from within the application DotGlu?
- What is the maximum length of an audio recording per memory?
- How often will you add new templates?
- Do you offer templates with room for more photos?
- Can I download templates from your website to my phone?
- Where can I make suggestions?
Do I have to start by taking pictures?No. You can use any of the seven action buttons (Who, Photos, Audio, Video, Place, Details, Quote) in any order to build a memory.
Does DotGlu use GPS tracking?No. At this time DotGlu does not use GPS tracking. Simply type the location your memory occurred with up to 30 characters of text.
Do I need to use all seven buttons when creating a new memory?No. It is up to you how much information you include in a memory. The final template will populate with whatever you include and each is designed to look great no matter what information is included, but we do feel the finished templates look pretty fantastic when all the options are used!
How can I change the order of my pictures on the template?DotGlu currently allows you to add three photos when building a memory. Once you have selected three, tap Preview. You will see your photos numbered from 1-3. Photo 1 is in the featured location, and is the largest on all the templates. Generally, the Photo 2 location is slightly larger than the Photo 3 location, but on some templates they are the same size. You can hold and drag photos to rearrange them in this Preview.
Where are my photos?DotGlu accesses the photos stored in your phone’s camera roll. From the “Build a Memory” screen, tap “Photos” and you are given the option to take a photo or make selections from your camera roll. If you take a photo it will be stored in your camera roll as usual.
Can I change or edit the text style, size, font and color?Not at this time. The beauty of the DotGlu concept is that you can quickly capture all the details of a memory and DotGlu will format it for you in a professionally designed template. That’s it, no decisions to make. Done. Go get a manicure.
Is my personal information shared?Never. Ever. The ONLY reason we even need your email/password is so we can connect you to your memories on our server. If baby throws your phone in the bathtub, we got your (memories) back.
Can I share audio or video to my Facebook and Twitter account?Yes. The templates have embedded links to live audio and video clips. So add them to your memory and share away.
Can I rename my memory after is has been saved?Yes. The name of your memory is also the title on the template. So if you rename a memory it will also change the title on the template. If you prefer not to name your memory, or have a title on the finished template that’s fine too.
Are all my memory elements (photos, text, audio/video clips) stored on my phone?The photos, videos and audio clips are stored on your phone through your phone’s camera and voice apps. Once you build and save a memory it is stored on your phone until your share it, then it is stored, or synced to our server. Share ALL your memories so you can get them to the server and restore them if you lose your phone. Memories that are not shared are not retrievable. Bummer, but there’s no way to restore them if they were only stored on your phone.
If I change phones will my memories still be available?Yes. Retrieve your memories with these simple steps: 1. Download the DotGlu app on the new device, and open it. 2. In the lower Menu bar, Go to Settings/Info, then Account. 3. Enter the Email and Password 4. Your Memories and People directory will reload in the DotGlu app on the new device. (TIP: Best when you have a strong WiFi connection) Remember, to retrieve a memory it had to have been shared (synced to the server).
When I start a memory is it saved automatically?Yes. DotGlu will always launch at the place you left off, so if the screen locks due to inactivity or you stop the app unexpectedly you will be brought back to the screen you last visited.
How long are my memories stored?Your memories are stored on your phone until shared and then they are synced to the DotGlu server. We will store them for you while you use DotGlu.
How many pictures can I take from within the application DotGlu?You can take up to three photos. If you decide to add more, you have to delete first to make room. Eventually there are plans to increase the number of photos you can include in a memory. How exciting!
What is the maximum length of an audio recording per memory?30 seconds.
How often will you add new templates?Our goal is to add new templates monthly so there is always something new and fresh to use.
Do you offer templates with room for more photos?Not at this time. There is only so much room on a template, but we are devising ways to add that option in the future. Stay tuned!
Can I download templates from your website to my phone?No. All template purchases must be made through the App store.
Where can I make suggestions?Please email us at email@example.com. We’d love to hear from you.